Checkmk snmp doubt

Hello there,

I am new to checkmk and I am looking for help to resolve a specific problem I am facing.

We have successfully configured the checkmk using the web interface it provides, so it can monitor the amount of network packets going through different Cisco Switches.

Apparently, there is a default snmp OID that checkmk uses to get to know the number of packets going through this Cisco firewall.

I would like to know which is this default configuration that checkmk is using by default to query via snmp all of this information.

If you need any more information, do not hesitate to ask.

Thanks in advance!

If you want to know the specific OIDs checkmk uses to query the SNMP agent you have to look at the check plugin implementation. The plugins are found in $OMD_ROOT/share/check_mk/checks/.

Hello Robert,

First of all, thank you for your quick response!

I would like to say a few things:

• There seems to be only two plugins available related to snmp:
    snmp_info snmp_uptime

Looking these two plugins I can see the following OIDs are used:

Specifically the OIDs:
.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.1.0: sysDescr.0
.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.4.0: sysContact.0
.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.5.0: sysName.0
.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.6.0: sysLocation.0

How is it able to get the number of packets going through a cisco device?

Btw the version of checkmk I am using is the following: 1.5p20

Thanks for your help!

No, there are many more. grep for snmp_info in that folder.
Have a look at the service check in question. It displays the used check plugin in its details. This way you can have a direct look at the file.

Good morning Robert,

My mistake, there seems to be way more plugins using snmp than just 2. :sweat_smile:

Is there any specific documentation I can follow to see the description of all this plugins?

Thanks for all your help, you are really shedding some light on this matter,

Unfortunately there is currently no documentation available online as the old docs have been pulled from the website.