Issues With YAML - Can Someone Please Help

Good Day Everyone,

I have been using Check_MK successfully for over 7 years. That success came with ease of use until now. I can’t begin to understand the logic or reason for jumping from ini files to yaml. I am having issues with running a powershell script on Windows. I am trying to run via MRPE. I tried running the powershell script by placing it in the plugin folder but that didnt work. The log application error state unable to execute script. I made sure the system can run powerscripts.

Can someone assist? I can post my check_MK.user.yml

Thanks
Steve

As i don’t know the internal decisions, the yaml file format is more structured and well defined in comparison to the old ini file.

You said that your script is normal Powershell. Then the minimum what should happen is a small text output. But before let us check the locations.
Own scripts should be placed inside "C:\programdata\checkmk\agent\plugins". These paths you also find inside the “check_mk.user.yml” file.

Below is my default config i use in most of my servers. This works with over 1-2k Windows servers. The config created with agent bakery from enterprise don’t look different only smaller. I use the build-in paths for some plugins that are already shipped with the agent. I put only own scripts inside the custom plugin path.

global:
    only_from: 192.168.0.100 # monitoring host
    sections: 
        - check_mk 
        - spool 
        - plugins
        - local
        - winperf 
        - uptime 
        - systemtime 
        - df 
        - mem 
        - services 
        - msexch
        - dotnet_clrmemory
        - wmi_webservices
        - wmi_cpuload
        - ps 
        - fileinfo 
        - logwatch 

ps:
    enabled: yes
    use_wmi: yes
    # full_path: yes # only if needed

winperf:
    counters:
        - 638: tcp_conn
        - Terminal Services: ts_sessions

logwatch:
    logfile:
        - 'Application': warm nocontext