Notifications problem from Synology NAS

Hi to All.

I am new to checkmk and stuck with not running notifications.

My setup is:

Synology NAS 720+ with DSM 6.2
Checkmk is running as docker image checkmk-check-mk-raw2
version: 2.0.0b3
Mail system based on synology package MailPlus Server
Fallback email address for notifications defined

I get no emails at all.

If I test @ from docker terminal:

echo “content” | mail -s test-subject xyz@gmail.com

I get the error:

postdrop: warning: unable to look up public/pickup: No such file or directory

So I have change the permissions to folder with the command:

chmod 755 /var/spool/@MailPlus-Server/postfix/public

it did not help.

Can I get any advice please ? :slight_smile:

I got the same error when I was using postfix on docker and fixed it with this:

mkfifo /var/spool/postfix/public/pickup
And then, restart the service :
service postfix restart

Hi.

I do not have folder /var/spool/postfix/public/pickup while i use MailPlus-Server.

Tried your trick with (I guess) equvelent folder:

root@NAS01:~# mkfifo /var/spool/@MailPlus-Server/postfix/public/pickup

mkfifo: cannot create fifo ‘/var/spool/@MailPlus-Server/postfix/public/pickup’: File exists

So I am still at the same place :slight_smile:

Is ther any option to define within checkmk valid SMTP server and TCP port to send notifaction emails ?

That would solve my problem.

Ideally, Check_MK uses /usr/sbin/sendmail to send notifications, everything else
depends on the local MTA.

However,there are two active checks configurable via WATO:

Here you can specify the SMTP server

Check Email Delivery

This active check sends out special E-Mails to a defined mail address using the SMTP protocol and then tries to receive these mails back by querying the inbox of a IMAP or POP3 mailbox. With this check you can verify that your whole mail delivery progress is working.

Check SMTP to access services