SNMP - Plugin - Basics

Hello,

I’m just learning the basics of developing a plugin and have some questions after searching around.

1. Is there better documentation ? Writing your own check plug-ins I’ve down followed the steps and have no idea how to get this to work as a service?

Would something like this be applicable?
-https://forum.checkmk.com/t/check-mk-english-snmp-checks/135942.

1. Is snmp plugins supposed to go “~/local/lib/check_mk/base/plugins/agent_based/” seems odd to put them in the “agent_based” as it’s not, but documentation only provides this path and seems to work.

2. Given the below plugin and output, can I get the output as
    {[OID1] = [VALUE2],
    [OID2] = [VALUE2]}

Is there something missing to get the OID information, so I can relate it to the values?
[VALUE1],
[VALUE2]

1. Is there examples I can follow? (perhaps on the git?) Please provide all the related files and paths, as to avoid just pointing to a group of “services” is not really going to help show what is related and applicable here.

2. Before you ask, I’m using public OIDs as it’s applicable to anyone trying to test this… The MIBs i’m going to use are custom, so sharing a more general example to get me started.

My progress so far:
~/local/lib/check_mk/base/plugins/agent_based/ANI.py

from cmk.base.plugins.agent_based.agent_based_api.v1 import *

def parse_sessions(string_table):
  parsed = {}
  print ("--", string_table, "--")
  return parsed

register.snmp_section(
  name = 'ANI',
  detect = exists('.1.3.6.1.4.1.123.0'),
  fetch = SNMPTree(
    base = '.1.3.6.1',
    oids = [
      '4.1.2021.9.1', #DISK Monitoring
      ],
     ),
  parse_function=parse_sessions,
  )

Example Output:

Starting job...