Agent-initiated checks instead of server-initiated checks

Hello community,

I’m new to checkmk and have a question on deploy agents on remote networks. We have a couple of remote offices outside our data centre where I would like to monitor a few Windows computers that are behind a firewall. I could use port forwarding to 6556 but sometimes these computers change networks. Ideally, I would like to have an agent on these computers that connects to the server to send updates, rather than the server connecting to the agent to gather checked data, so that we never have to worry about exposing ports on remote firewalls, and we’re always able to gather stats from these remote systems regardless of where they are. Is this possible with the checkmk agent? Or is there a different way to achieve this sort of setup? Note that we’re using checkmk enterprise. thank you!

The proper way would be to setup distributed monitoring, that is: separate “slave” checkmk servers in your remote offices. You would then configure your “master” checkmk server in the data centre to fetch the data from the slave instances via a secured tcp connection.

Another way would be to have cronjobs (or systemd timers) on the computers in the remote offices that call the check_mk_agent every minute and push the output via ssh to the data centre into a file, ideally with the same name as the remote’s hostnames. Then setup the checkmk server so that it doesn’t fetch the data by connecting to port 6556 but to just read the file instead.

I would definitely not recommend the second approach. Been there, done that. No fun. You get problems with outdated files or even no files at all. Also, checkmk cannot properly check if a host is up or down.

A third possibility might be the dynamic host configuration.

2 Likes

Thank you Dirk! I’m with you regarding #2 - I will explore the first and third options. Appreciate the detailed response.

@Ktivdv,