Artificial Intelligence (AI) Anomaly Detection and Correlation

Hello all,

I figured since there was nothing in the Roadmap about this, I’d probably get more engagement if I was looking at this from a plugin :jigsaw: possibility.

I was wondering if anyone had started considering using AI to do some of the analysis that CheckMk is currently doing, to try to be more intelligent at anomaly detection and correlation :thinking:

I’ve seen Dynatrace’s results, and they’re pretty impressive :muscle: Of course, there’s just something about that product that rubs me the wrong way, but I can definitely see how it’s beneficial to have so many data sources being intelligently analyzed in the aggregate.

With the popularity of Introduction - Hugging Face NLP Course and 🦜️🔗 LangChain | 🦜️🔗 LangChain, (both python libraries BTW) it seems like the time is ripe to experiment with integrations. :brain: But being a lowly sysadmin, I don’t have the developer mindset or tooling to be able to put a robust solution together… but I can hack the heck out of a python script.

Has anyone worked with doing something like dynamically adjusting parameters of WARN and CRIT thresholds? :thinking: Or exposing service metrics? Or working with TCP connection data? I figure those areas are gunna be at least some of the fundamental building blocks of how any AI would gather essential information about the functioning of the whole environment.

Anyways, sorry for not being able to provide anything concrete :person_shrugging: I was hoping that maybe thinking aloud could be of use to someone else other than myself.

1 Like

hey @acziryak

great discussion starter! A lot to unpacke here.

Checkmk can do this since years (before it was cool to slap ‘AI’ on everything that goes beyond a simple linear regression :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: ) See more here: Predictive monitoring