Best Practices for Cleaning Up/Maintenance in CheckMK environment

Does anyone know if there is a technical bulletin or document that would go over any clean up steps or maintenance if there is any if you have a large CheckMK environment?

2 Likes

It is not so important if you have a large or small environment. What makes more problem and needs regular cleanup is the amount of new and removed hosts/services from your monitoring system.

But all the “problems” are only disk space problems in the end :wink:

2 Likes

Thanks Andreas, that is great news since I’m typically used to running maintenance scripts within SQL or the application environments that I usually support. I’m fairly new to CheckMK, but glad to hear theirs not much overhaul when it comes to keeping the interface running smooth.

Have a great day! :slight_smile:

the pity is still, that there is no proper cleanup routine.
For example:
rrds - which create the majority of data
remove all Host- AND/OR Service-data, older then X and being able to configure this also by Hostname
Especially with all cloud data and services which are coming and going sometimes even 1000 Services per Host, per day

Of course you can write your scripts before you answer. :wink:
But I would consider it as basic housekeeping which is not moved to the cloud level yet.

Yes inside the CEE and heavy usage of the “cloud” features this is a real problem.

At the moment my solution is a two line bash script to cleanup the rrd files.
It is not guaranteed that this will work on all systems :smiley:

find . -type f -mtime +90 -name "*.rrd" | sed "s/\.rrd//" | while read f; do rm "$f.info"; done
find . -type f -mtime +90 -name "*.rrd" | sed "s/\.rrd//" | while read f; do rm "$f.rrd"; done

And for someone with better bash knowledge this can be done with one line i think.

2 Likes

more or less the same we do - BUT…

It needs to work based on tags!
As there are up to X0000+ Services we have within 90 days on one Server. (Cloud of course)