Check_MK_Agent Installation Windows without GUI

CMK version: 1.6
OS version: Centos7

Hi,

I has some OS Version Windows Server 2016 Standard.
There’s no gui, only command and Powershell. We have 3 hosts that need the agent installed on them.

Can some one can explain me how to install the Agent.msi on Windows without the GUI?

Thank you

Hi,

I’m really no Windows expert, but maybe you can try running the msiexec /i from the command line and then pointing to the .msi package that you wish to install.

Louis

I would try unattended installation:

UP(C:\Users\hhirsch\Downloads>):msiexec /i check_mk_agent.msi /qn

See

regards

MF

5 Likes

Hello, which checkmk agent specific commandline options do we have?
E.g. i’m looking for an option to make the installer instruct to “Remove Legacy Agent” (Which is normally disabled when using the gui)

Ps.: I hoped to find this on the page The agent for Windows in detail but it’s not there.

The options i found are here inside this file.

They start all with “WIXUI_…”

Hi,

This is the process that i follow to install the Agent:

Windows provides the ability to automate installations of MSI packages via msiexec.
First, we are going to download the .msi on our server, this can do it by connecting to the server from another machine by UNC with \servername\c$\ and copying the file.

And then we need to execute:

e.g.
UP(C:\Users\hhirsch\Downloads>):msiexec /i check_mk_agent.msi /qn

or if we already have the msi on the machine, we can just simply install, using:

e.g.
msiexec.exe /i check_mk.msi /quiet /norestart

In this case the agent will be installed under the default path, and then immediately started as a Windows service.

Checking the configuration