CheckMK high CPU usage

Hi,

I ran into an issue lately. I see that the monitoring machine is using a lot of CPU. I’m not a Debian expert (it is installed on debian), but i can see a lot of CPU is consumed by python /omd/sites/site/bin/cmk --keepalive --keepalive-fd=3. These processes are almost taking all the CPU power (4 Cores) from the machine.

I’m not monitoring a lot (under 3000 services) so i would like to know if this is normal, or what i can do to troubleshoot this.

CheckMK version 1.6.0p16 Enterprise

Thanks in advance.

Not the number of services is important. It is the number of hosts and your average runtime of all “check_mk” services.
If you make a quick count like this example.
100 hosts with a average runtime of 1 seconds for the “check_mk” service and 1 minute check interval
=> 100 seconds CPU time needed
with 4 CPU’s you have 240 seconds CPU time available per minute and all should run smoothly.
This is a very rough calculation. But it gives a first impression if the system is overloaded or not.

How does it look in your scenario?

1 Like

Thanks. I have 97 hosts and 4 CPU’s. So that should be enough is my first thought. I do not changed the check interval, except for a few hosts where i did change the ‘check interval for service checks’ to a less more frequency.

The question is how long is your average runtime of the check_mk service on every host.

Is there any way to find out?

Here’s what I do:

• Click on any host so its services show up.
  • Click on the service Check_MK so its details show up.
  • On the details page again click on the service name in the 3rd row Service description. Alternatively you can click on the button Service globally in the top row of buttons.

Now you get a list of that service for all hosts. Click the Perf-O-Meter column to sort by runtime.

3 Likes

Thanks Dirk.

I have an average of 2 seconds. A few devices are going to 300 seconds (i have an issue monitoring them as well)