Execute Checks on Linux maschines without Agent?

hello everyone, as i am new to checkmk and already achieved many things in the last 2 days while testing it…i have this one question which i wish it works.

we have i our company some old linux machines runing only some very sensitiv databases. so i should not install an agent or anything else on them. instead i need to monitor some services and existing files using ssh connection.

is it possible without an agent at all, to tell checkmk to create an ssh session and execute a bash script that i wrote and deliver me the output - like icinga - ? i found the check via ssh service section but there is nothing mentioned in docs.checkmk about it so i can implement it. Would someone like to show how its done if its possible? thank you very much-

Yes, it is. And it is quite easy. Create a datasource script that does a login on the machine, runs the command and then from output or return value creates a minimal Checkmk agent output like this. Here we create one so called local check that immediately can be added to monitoring and one section (“yoyodyne”) that needs a plugin on the CMK server:

<<<check_mk>>>
AgentOS: linux
<<<yoyodyne>>>
performance 53.0
<<<local:sep(0)>>>
1 "Yoyodyne performance" perf=53.0 Performance is worse than expected.

(for local checks: 0=OK, 1=WARN, 2=CRIT, 3=UNKN)

hi @ymez
check via ssh could work, but if people are fine with you placing a bash script and executing it via ssh, just use the agent via ssh:) It’s not part of the 2.1 documentation but I’m pretty sure it will still work.

This way, you don’t have to install the agent and have it running in the background you simply have the checkmk agent shell script installed but it only gets called when your checkmk hosts contacts it via ssh.

Gerd

1 Like

thank you for the reply. shall i use the check via ssh service for this? if yes where should i put the password for the ssh user?

or is it only accepting an ssh key?