REST API display only the host names

Hi,

Is there a way to get list of hosts name(only)/host ids using rest api? And get them as json ?I am using this endpoint: /domain-types/host_config/collections/all but it return to much data in nested json arrays that I don’t need.Is there a query or a better way to simply get all the hosts ?

Thanks,
Luc

1 Like

Hi @lucfx,

use " Show hosts of specific condition" for that.
/domain-types/host/collections/all

Without query you get all hosts in a json format, only given the column “name”.

Can you please give me a example with specific condition? I am new to ckeckmk api.

There are no necessary conditions for this api-call :slight_smile:
You can just:
https://<check_mk_server>//check_mk/api/1.0/domain-types/host/collections/all

The response you get is a json-response containing all hosts.
See the documentation:
https://<check_mk_server>//check_mk/openapi/#operation/cmk.gui.plugins.openapi.endpoints.host.list_hosts

You are right, but I am getting a huge array of nested json objects with unnecessary fields like domainType and so on .What I wanted was someting like this:
[
{name: “host1”},
{name: “host2”} …

]
a simple json array not all the data, don’t know if it possible through the api.

The REST API follows specific design patterns (OpenAPI 3 spec and HATEOAS) that “add” this seemingly unnecessary information to the returned data.

If you just want a list of currently monitored hosts have a look at the Multisite API, which is basically just adding output_format=json to any view.py URL. You can create any custom view of monitoring data and query this table.

1 Like

This is most likely the easiest. Create a view that only contain HOSTNAME and call that view using output_format=json and you get much less data. You will still get an “incorrect” json due to how checkmk handles view column but it will be much less data.

I usually filter out the .links nodes first with jq because for me they are useless clutter.