Setup SAML with Google Workspace

Hi everyone. I’m VERY new to checkmk and just managed to set up a good monitoring environment for our infrastructure. It runs very well and I love the automatic agent deployment!
However, I was asked to implement SAML Single-Sign-On with Google Workspace and I simply cannot get it to work. Did anyone get it to work and is will to help me out? I’ve been sitting here for a few hours now and whenever I try to log in, it simply tells me “Authentication Failed - Contact your Administrator”. Is there at least a way to see a log about what is actually wrong?
I’m using the checkmk appliance in a VM if that is important.

1 Like

If i remember correctly logging is posted in the var/log/web.log in your site

1 Like

Im working on a site renaming and I faced this same issue, so I rolled back and found out that the issue already occured but somehow it works. Im clueless now.

Mostly what i am missing is what have you setup, and followed what documentation.

Also very important is creating a trace from the whole conversation with google workspace.

Please while testing your authentication run a trace with the plugin/addon in your browser called SAML-Tracer (exists both for Firefox, aswell as Chrome).

The result in the trace is of great value in troubleshooting !!

• Glowsome
1 Like

The details in var/log/web.log might not have enough detail by default, as the log-level is set to ‘Warning’

This can be boosted by going to :
Setup → Global Settings → User interface → Option Logging

Set Web to the desired level (i suggest Verbose).

The change should be effective immediately, and will provide insight in whats going on on the CMK -side.

• Glowsome
1 Like

Thanks for the assistance, I`m able to retrieve more logs now but still no success. The funny thing is BOTH environments retrieve the exact same error, but one of them is working :

I`m still evaluating everything.

Is the IDP even sending the user ID ?