"Network Visualization" now in version 2.3

Hi all,
this feature has finally landed in version 2.3. I already talked about it in the last thread, but since there have been many data/UX/feature changes, I will write a short overview here.
We are planning to publish a blog article in the next few weeks in which we explain the configuration in more detail.

What is it about
Visualization of dependencies between objects

The figure above shows the CDP relationship between hosts and their interfaces.
It also shows the current status of the hosts/services and provides links to the appropriate views.
The data for this relationships is currently not computed by Checkmk, but there are MKPs in the works which generate data for LLDP/CDP and netstat.

Different visualization styles
display_styles

With the layout designer you can make it as beautiful/ugly as you want (I’m not good at it…)

Service visibility
Services can be generally set to hidden. This only shows the connections between hosts and reduces visual overload.
You can set that only services with problems are displayed or that only services for certain hosts are displayed, as shown in the figure below.

Check differences between different timestamps

Automatic growth depending on configured mesh depth
growth

Assign custom node and link styles
This example shows a custom emblem(warning sign) and icon (check mark) for the node C2960-FOR and a connection line with a customized color and thickness

Data format
There is always one data file for each data type for a given timestamp.
The data is divided into two main components

• The objects, which represent the nodes in the visualization
  • The connections, which describe the connection between objects
{
    "version": 1,       # data format version
    "name": "CDP data", # some name to display somewhere
    "objects": {        # A dictionary containing the object ID key and the object as value
        # A generic node with the ID NodeA and the display name 'NodeA'