High Availability of check_mk ( two masters , many slaves)

Hello team ,

I am using check_mk for almost 1 year now , and we I have some experience of using it as monitoring system.

I have and Installation of Check_mk in virtual machines and using distributed monitoring ( 1 master , 2 slaves ) , 1 master and 1 slave ( in DMZ 1 ) and 1 slave ( DMZ 2 )

I am exporting data to influx Db and visualize them in grafana
I am also using the feature of creating the ticket in Service Now and Jira when a critical service event occur.

I have some question on how to have a check_mk High available .
Imagine on Friday at 22h:00 , check_mk is down ( one of the slave in the DMZ is down , infrastructure problems) , so during the week end, I am loosing all the monitoring and metrics , and I can’t raise a ticket to notify the guard for the infrastructure problem , a very big problem

So I am finding the way to have a fall over when one the slave or master is down , I have to restart automatically the backups to perform the monitoring.

What I have are :

1 Master --> 1 Master Backup
1 Slave --> 1 Slave backup
2 Slave —> 2 Slave backup

A job is launched every day to align the machines ( omd restore , omd start , disable check and notifications )

Any suggestion ? or someone who has the same experiences ?

Hi Ano,
as far as i understand, you are not using the CheckMK appliance. If you would, you could setup a HA system right away as the appliance has all required features.

https://checkmk.de/cms_appliance_usage.html
or

If you use the non-commercial version, you need to set up things on your own. Personally, if you require HA and want that supported by Tribe, you should investigate the option to upgrade to Tribe appliances, either virtual or HW.

That way - you ensure support by the vendor.

Hello Kribbit ,
In the first time , we’ve used the raw editon then we upgraded to the paid version
I am using the paid version of check_mk ( CEE 1.6.p9) .